IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


30th July, 2022 Polity and Governance

Copyright infringement not intended


In News

  • On 30th July 2022, the Prime Minister addressed the inaugural session of the First All India District Legal Services Authorities Meet at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.
  • It will be the 1st ever national level meeting of District Legal Services Authorities (DLSAs).
  • The meeting was organized by the National Legal Services Authority (NALSA).


District Legal Services Authorities

  • There are a total 676 District Legal Services Authorities (DLSAs) in the country.
    • They are headed by the District Judge who acts as Chairman of the authority.
  • The District Legal Services Authority is situated in the District Courts Complex in every District and is chaired by the District Judge of the respective district.
  • The State Government in consultation with the Chief Justice of the High Court constitutes District Legal Services Authority for every district in the State.
  • A District legal Authority shall consist of—
    • The District Judge who shall be its Chairman.
    • Number of other members as prescribed by the State Government.
  • The officers and other employees of the District Authority shall be entitled to such salary and allowances and shall be subject to such other conditions of service as prescribed by the State Government in consultation with the Chief Justice of the High Court.
    • The administrative expenses of every District Authority shall be made out of the Consolidated Fund of the State.
  • They provide various legal aid and conduct awareness programmes.
  • They also help in reducing the burden on courts by regulating the Lok Adalats organised by NALSA.
    • The National Legal Services Authority (NALSA) has been constituted under the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 to provide free Legal Services to the weaker sections of society and to organize Lok Adalats for peaceful settlement of disputes.
  • Every eligible person shall be entitled to free legal services. Criteria for giving legal services:
    • A member of Scheduled Caste or Scheduled Tribe.
    • A victim of trafficking in human beings or beggars.
    • A woman or a child.
    • Mentally ill or disabled person.
    • A person under circumstances of underserved want such as being a victim of a mass disaster, ethnic violence, caste atrocity, flood, drought, earthquake or industrial disaster.
    • An industrial workman.
    • In receipt of annual income from all sources less than rupees 3,00,000/- or such other higher amount as may be prescribed by the State Government.
    • Ex-serviceman.