Daily News Analysis

Hindi Diwas  

14th September, 2021 Culture and Heritage


Disclaimer: No Copyright infringement intended.



  • Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has greeted the people on Hindi Diwas.



  • Hindi Day/Hindī Diwas is celebrated every year on 14 September marking the declaration of Hindi language as one of the official languages of Union government of India.
  • On 14 September 1949, Hindi was adapted as one of the official languages in India.
  • As such, on the 50th birthday of Beohar Rajendra Simha on the 14th of September 1949, the efforts resulted in the adoption of Hindi as an official language.
  • In all, there are 22 Scheduled languages of India.


Official Languages

  • There is no national language in India.
  • However, article 343(1) of the Indian constitution specifically mentions that, "The official language of the Union shall be Hindi in Devanagari script.
  • The form of numerals to be used for the official purposes of the Union shall be the international form of Indian numerals."
  • The business in Indian parliament can only be transacted in Hindi or in English.
  • English is allowed to be used in official purposes such as parliamentary proceedings, judiciary, communications between the Central Government and a State Government.
  • There are various official languages in India at the state/territory level.
  • States within India have the liberty and powers to specify their own official language(s) through legislation.