IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis


6th January, 2022 Culture and Heritage


Disclaimer: Copyright infringement not intended.


  • The Aam Aadmi Party(AAP)-led Delhi Assembly on passed an amendment Bill to the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Act, 1971, recognising Takht Damdama Sahib as the fifth Takht of Sikhs.


What is a Sikh Takht?

  • A Takht, which means a throne, is a seat of temporal authority for Sikhs.
  • There are five Sikh Takhts, three in Punjab and one each in Maharashtra and Bihar.


The Five Takhts

  1. Akal Takht: Located in Amritsar, it is the oldest of the Takhts, and considered supreme among the five. It was set up in 1606 by Guru Hargobind. Akal Takht is supreme among them because it is the oldest and was created by a Sikh Guru himself
  2. Takht Keshgarh Sahib: Located in Anandpur Sahib in Punjab. It was here that Guru Gobind Singh raised Khalsa, the initiated Sikh warriors, in 1699.
  3. Takht Patna Sahib: Guru Gobind Singh was born here in 1666.
  4. Takht Hazur Sahib: In Nanded, where Guru Gobin Singh spent time and where he was cremated in 1708.
  5. Takht Damdama Sahib: In Talwandi Sabo of Bathinda. Guru Gobind Singh spent several months here.