Daily News Analysis


10th June, 2022 Polity and Governance

Copyright infringement not intended


Context - The Election Commission of India has announced the schedule for Presidential Elections 2022.



  • The Election Commission of India has announced 18th July as the date for electing the next President of India.
  • The notification for the election will be issued on 15th June, the last date for nomination will be 29th June, and the polls to be held on 18th July.
  • The tenure of the 15th President of India ‘Ram Nath Kovind’ will come to an end on 24th July 2022.
  • According to Article 62 of the Indian Constitution, an election to the President post due to the expiration of the office term shall be completed before the term ends


President of India

  • Part V of the Indian Constitution precisely deals with the Union executive from Articles 52 to 78.
    • The President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, Council of Ministers, and Attorney General of India constitute the Union executive.
  • He is India's first citizen and serves as a symbol of the country's unity, integrity, and solidarity.



  • The candidate should be an Indian citizen.
  • Should have completed the age of 35 years.
  • Should be qualified for election as a member of the Lok Sabha.
  • Should not hold any office of profit under the Union Government or any state government or any local or other authority.
  • The President should not be a member of any house of Union or State legislature.


Election of the President

  • The President of India is elected by an electoral college consisting of:
    • Elected members of the two Houses of Parliament and Legislative Assemblies of the States.
    • It includes the national capital territory of Delhi and the Union territory of Pondicherry.
  • The President‘s election is held under a system of proportional representation through a single transferable vote.


Presidents’ Term of Office

  • The oath of office to the President is administered by the Chief Justice of India and in his absence, by the senior-most judge of the Supreme Court available.
  • According to Article 62 (1), An election should be held to fill the vacancy of the Presidential post before the expiration of the President‘s term.
  • The President holds office for a five-year term from the date on which he enters the office.
  • The President can resign at any time by addressing the resignation letter to the Vice-President of India.
  • When a vacancy occurs in the President‘s office due to his death, resignation or removal or otherwise, the Vice- president acts as the President until a new President is elected.
  • An election to fill such a vacancy should be held within 6 months from the date of occurrence of such vacancy.
  • A person is eligible for re-election to the Presidential office.


Impeachment of President

  • According to Article 61, the President may be impeached from his office for violation of the constitution.
  • The impeachment charges may be initiated by either Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha and they should be signed by at least 1/4th members.
  • Regarding the charges, a 14 days notice should be given.
  • The resolution of the charges for the impeachment of the President should be passed by at least 2/3rd majority.
  • Afterwards, the charges are investigated in the other House of the Parliament.
  • If the resolution is passed in this House also with a 2/3rd majority, then the President stands removed from his office from the date on which the bill is passed.





1.           Dr Rajendra Prasad

1950 - 1962

2.           Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

1962 - 1967

3.           Dr Zakir Husain

1967 - 1969


4.           Varahagiri Venkatagiri

1969 - 1969


5.           Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah

1969 - 1969


6.           Varahagiri Venkatagiri

1969 - 1974

7.           Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed

1974 - 1977


8.           B.D. Jatti

1977 - 1977


9.           Neelam Sanjiva Reddy

1977 - 1982

10.            Giani Zail Singh

1982 - 1987

11.            R. Venkataraman

1987 - 1992

12.            Dr Shanker Dayal Sharma

1992 - 1997

13.            K.R. Narayanan

1997 – 2002

14.            Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

2002 – 2007

15.            Smt. Pratibha Patil

2007 – 2012

16.            Pranab Mukherjee

2012 – 2017

17.            Ram Nath Kovind

2017 - till date