Daily News Analysis

Senegal-Mauritanian Aquifer Basin (SMAB)        

5th October, 2021 Geography


Disclaimer: Copyright infringement not intended.


  • Ministers of the Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Mauritania and Senegal signed a joint declaration to advance trans-boundary cooperation in the Senegal-Mauritanian Aquifer Basin (SMAB).
  • This is in line with the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) Water Convention.




  • The Senegalo-Mauritanian aquifer basin is the largest basin in the Atlantic margin of north-west Africa, having an area of 350,000 square kilometres.
  • More than 24 million inhabitants of the region are dependent on it for drinking water and other needs.
  • This includes the capitals of Guinea Bissau and Senegal, namely Bissau and Dakar.