IAS Gyan

Daily News Analysis

UGC Regulations on PhD

11th November, 2022 Polity and Governance

Copyright infringement not intended


In News

  • The University Grants Commission (UGC) has notified new guidelines on PhD (Doctor of Philosophy) degrees, including a set of changes in eligibility criteria, admission procedure and evaluation methods governing doctoral programmes in colleges and universities.


In Details

  • UGC has removed the mandatory requirement of publishing research papers in refereed journals or presenting at conferences
  • Part-time PhDs have been launched for working professionals, and there will be a relaxation of 5% marks in eligibility for admissions even for the new EWS category.


Key points of the UGC (Minimum Standards and Procedures for Award of PhD Degree) Regulations, 2022

  • The eligibility criteria for admissions have been changed. Anyone with a Bachelor’s programme degree with a minimum of 75% marks in aggregate or its equivalent grade will be eligible for doing a PhD.
    • Graduates with conventional three-year Under Graduate (UG) degrees need to have completed two-year Master’s degrees.
  • The new Rules discontinue the M.Phil programme. The MPhil programme has been scrapped under the new National Education Policy, 2020
  • There are no major changes in the procedure for admissions.
  • Where the selection is done by entrance tests conducted by individual universities, a weightage of 70% will be given to performance in the written test and 30% to the interview.


University Grants Commission (UGC)

  • University Grants Commission is a statutory body under the University Grants Commission Act, of 1956.
  • UGC is charged with the task of coordinating and maintaining standards of higher education in India.
  • It provides recognition to universities and also allocates funds to universities and colleges.
  • UGC headquarters are in New Delhi, and it also has 6 regional centres.
  • All grants to universities and higher learning institutions are handled by the UGC.
  • In 2015-16, the Union government initiated a National Institutional Ranking Framework under UGC to rank all educational institutes.
  • UGC also conducts the National Eligibility Test (NET) for the appointments of teachers in colleges and universities.
  • M Jagadesh Kumar is the current chairman of the UGC.